Category Beyond Books & Browsers
12 June 2024

Entrepreneurial Finance Association meets in Munich

Tag Finance
Tag Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurial Finance Association meets in Munich

The TUM School of Management hosted the annual meeting of the 2024 Entrepreneurial Finance Association under the patronage of Professor Paul P. Momtaz with a remarkable Doctoral and Early Career Colloquium.

We welcomed the keynote speakers William Megginson, PhD (University of Oklahoma - Price College of Business) and Professor Lin William Cong (Cornell University), who set the tone for the conference, providing profound insights and sparking lively discussions.

Our attendees had the unique opportunity to interact directly with the esteemed editors of several journals, Professor Cristiano Bellavitis (Syracuse University), Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice, Professor Lin William Cong (Cornell University), Management Science, Professor William Megginson, PhD (University of Oklahoma's Michael F. Price College of Business), Journal of International Business Studies and Professor Silvio Vismara (Università degli Studi di Bergamo), Small Business Economics.

The colloquium featured dynamic roundtable sessions where graduate students and professors collaborated, discussed research progress, and exchanged valuable feedback.
Over 45 fascinating papers were presented by distinguished professors and researchers in the field of entrepreneurial finance. The breadth and depth of research were truly impressive, ranging from ESG, venture capital, and machine learning to angles and crowdfunding.
Furthermore, we discussed new developments at the Entrepreneurial Finance Association, focusing on our future direction and growth.

During this year´s annual meeting of ENTFIN ASSOCIATION, the President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Board of Directors were newly elected.
Congratulations to the President: Massimo Colombo (politecnico di Milano)
Congratulations to the Secretary: Aurelie Sannajust  (KEDGE Business School)
Congratulations to the Treasurer: Silvio Vismara (Università degli Studi di Bergamo)
Congratulations to the Board members:
- Douglas Cumming (Florida Atlantic University)
- Steven Kaplan (University of Chicago)
- Sophie Manigart (Vlerick Business School)
- Armin Schwienbacher (SKEMA Business School)
- Alexander Groh (Labex Entreprendre)
- Helmut Kraemer-Eis, Dr. (European Investment Fund (EIF)
- Paul P. Momtaz (Technical University of Munich)
- Vincenzo Capizzi (Università degli Studi del Piemonte Orientale)

ENTFIN ASSOCIATION 2024 - The annual meeting of the Entrepreneurial Finance Association 2024 was also the moment to celebrate the outstanding contributions of its community.

Best Paper Award
Winner: Marc Deloof (University of Antwerp) with the paper “Belgian Financial Elites and Destructive Entrepreneurship in King Leopold’s Congo Free State.”

Runner-up: Simon Kleinert (Maastricht University) with the paper “Intermediaries in the Signaling Process: Evidence from Equity Crowdfunding Platforms.”

Distinguished Service Award sponsored by European Investment Fund (EIF) represented by Helmut Kraemer-Eis, Dr.
Aurelie Sannajust (KEDGE Business School)

Best Paper Award sponsored by CAIA Association represented by Sam Duncombe
Maura Kolbe

Best Ph.D. Paper Award
Winner: Qiang Xiong (Università Bocconi) with the paper “Greening the Portfolio: Limited Partners’ Preferences for Social Impact and Sustainability Orientation of Venture Capital Funds.”

Runner-up: Robert Reardon (Florida Atlantic University) with the paper “Institutional Quality and Success in U.S. Equity Crowdfunding.”

Honorable Mention
Joy Wilkinson, CFA, FRM (Florida Atlantic University), with the paper “Geographic Determinants of Impact Investments.”

Congratulations to all the awardees for their exceptional work and contributions to the field of entrepreneurial finance!